Leadership Team

We’re proud of the over 900 Team Members who serve our Residents. Our people are the heart and soul of Baptist Housing, and the care and compassion they show our seniors, family members and each other is nothing short of inspiring. Meet the women and men who lead our team:

Senior Leadership Team

Howard Johnson – President & Chief Executive Officer. Mr. Johnson has over 30 years of senior management experience in senior housing and health care in British Columbia, Ontario and Prince Edward Island. He leads a team of more than 900 Team Members caring for almost 2,000 seniors in 15 Baptist Housing residences in Victoria, Vancouver, Kelowna and the Interior.

Gordon Braun – Executive Vice President Finance & Chief Financial Officer. Mr. Braun provides leadership to the accounting and finance departments and oversees risk management, strategic planning and capital budgets for new projects.

Marc Kinna – Executive Vice President Operations & Chief Operating Officer. Mr. Kinna leads our operational teams in the Interior and Victoria, where over 700 Team Members serve seniors each day. His background is in operational leadership in regional and national organizations implementing transition and operational integration programs.

Ray Saucy – Vice President Spiritual Care & Special Projects. Mr. Saucy leads our Spiritual Care team in Vancouver, Victoria and the Interior. He provides leadership support and training on special projects.

Dayle Krahn – Vice President Property Maintenance & Development. Mr. Krahn is responsible for the maintenance of all Baptist Housing properties. With extensive experience in construction and land development, he is the lead project manager on development opportunities.

Gary Muuren - Vice President Human Resources & Organizational Development. Mr. Muuren is responsible for strategic leadership of Human Resource Teams, programs, policies and processes, including recruitment, compensation and benefits, occupational health and safety, leadership development and training, and labour relations in Kelowna, the Lower Mainland, and Victoria.

Deanna Bogart - Vice President Marketing & Communications. Ms. Bogart has extensive experience in strategic communications and provides direction on all marketing and communication initiatives.

Board of Directors

Baptist Housing is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of a Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary/Treasurer and six additional Directors.

Charles Nishi – Chair. Mr. Nishi has served on Baptist Housing’s Board of Directors since 1986. He is a professional engineer and consultant to the forest products industry.

Dr. Garry Grams  – Vice Chair.  Dr. Grams has served on Baptist Housing’s Board of Directors since 1990.  He is Professor Emeritus of Family Medicine at the University of British Columbia, and a Behavioural Consultant and Family Therapist in private practice.

Lorrie Wasyliw– Secretary/Treasurer. Ms. Wasyliw has served as a Director since 1995. She is the Executive Director of W.I.N.G.S. Fellowship Ministries, a non-profit society providing shelter and support to women and children fleeing violence.

Harold Bloomfield– Director. Mr. Bloomfield has served as a Director since 1993 and is a realtor.

Dawne Carroll – Director. Mrs. Carroll has served as a Director since 2003 and is a Director of Clinical Operations and Registered Nurse.  

Dr. Larry Gustafson – Director. Dr. Gustafson has served on the Board since 2003. He is a Medical Health Officer and Program Medical Director for Residential Care and Assisted Living at Fraser Health.

Tom Irwin, LL.B. – Director. Mr. Irwin has served as a Director since 2003 and is a general practice lawyer.  

Ana Mak – Director. Ms. Mak has served on the Board since 2007 and is a professional management consultant.  

Dan Robinson – Director. Mr. Robinson has served on the Board since 2005 and is a businessman.